6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Derbyshire Life today CLICK HERE

Derbyshire Tennis Association Awards 2011

PUBLISHED: 11:52 27 April 2011 | UPDATED: 19:16 20 February 2013

Derbyshire Tennis Association Awards 2011

Derbyshire Tennis Association Awards 2011

Pictures from the Derbyshire Tennis Association Annual Awards 2011 held at Pride Park, Derby

Pride Park in Derby was the venue for the second annual Derbyshire Tennis Association Awards. Around 350 guests gathered to celebrate the contribution of the volunteers, players, officials, clubs and coaches who are the heartbeat of tennis in the county. The great and good of Derbyshire Tennis were joined by two guests of honour, Peter Bretherton, the President of the LTA and Andrew Jarrett the Belper-born Wimbledon Championships referee. Highlights of the night included a speech by Andrew Jarrett on his experience of playing for county and country as well as his role at Wimbledon, and a presentation of County Colours to Jenny Batty, Sarah Batty and Kathryn Cook for their outstanding service to Derbyshire tennis.

In addition to the clubs who triumphed in the Derby Area Summer League and Chesterfield Area Summer League, the award winners were:
Junior Player of the Year (Girl): Katie Wilson (Derbyshire Tennis Centre); highly commended - Victoria Allen
Junior Player of the Year (Boy): Sam Ferguson (David Lloyd Derby)
Club Player of the Year: Mary Langen (Chesterfield)
Volunteer of the Year: Keith Murcutt (Duffield); highly commended - Barbara Langen (Chesterfield) & Eileen Maddison (Belper Meadows)
Coach of the Year: Mike James (Derbyshire Tennis Centre); highly commended - Simon Thornewill (Duffield) and David Keal (Derbyshire Tennis Centre)
Club of the Year: Duffield; highly commended - Ashbourne and Church Broughton
Veteran of the Year: Ashley Broomhead (Duffield); highly commended - Jane Rushby (Church Broughton)
Womens Player of the Year: Katie Higson; highly commended - Jenny Batty (Chesterfield) and Gemma Praditgnam (Ashby Castle)
Mens Player of the Year: James Rushby (Church Broughton); highly commended - Tom Rushby (Church Broughton)
Derek Wardle Memorial Award: Katie Wilson (Derbyshire Tennis Centre)
Womens County Colours: Jenny Batty, Sarah Batty and Kathryn Cook

Most Read

Latest from the Derbyshire Life and Countryside